CPATA will be closed on Monday November 14.

College Committees

CPATA relies on governance and regulatory committees to perform its regulatory activities.

Registration Committee

The Registration Committee assists the Registrar in administering the College’s licensing requirements. The Committee:

  • approves standards for the evaluation of competencies and passing marks for the qualifying examinations; and
  • when requested by an applicant or a licensee, reviews decisions made by the Registrar under the By-laws.  

The Registration Committee is composed of a representative from the Patent Office and Office of the Registrar of Trademarks, licensees and members of the public. When reviewing a decision of the Registrar, the Registration Committee can request additional information, approve applications (with or without conditions), and conduct registration hearings. Decisions of the Registration Committee cannot be appealed to the Board.

Registration Committee: Terms of Reference

Registration Committee: Skills Matrix

Committee Members 
  • Tina McKay Chair/présidente (2024)
  • Martin Béliveau (2024)
  • Jason Hynes (2024)
  • Heidi Jensen (2024)
  • Jeffrey Orser (2024)
  • Mark Pioro (2024)
  • Hilary Rose (2024)
  • Staff – Jen Slabodkin

Investigations Committee

The Investigations Committee is responsible for supporting the Board’s professional regulation and public protection mandate under the Act, Regulations, By-laws, Policies, Regulatory Objectives, Standards and Principles.  They will do this by:

  • Supporting the ethical and competent delivery of patent and trademark services by licensees
  • Seeking to resolve complaints and educate licensees where appropriate
  • Investigating or directing the investigation of complaints of professional misconduct or incompetence
  • Providing comprehensive, transparent and principled decisions to parties
  • Implementing policies and procedures to support a complaints process that is efficient, effective, fair, transparent and accountable

The Investigations Committee may dismiss or attempt to resolve complaints, issue advice or warnings to licensees, or refer matters to the Discipline Committee where there is evidence of professional misconduct or incompetence.

Investigations Committee: Terms of Reference

Investigations Committee: Skills Matrix

Committee Members 
  • Kristin Dangerfield – Chair/présidente (2024)
  • Pierre Cantin (2024)
  • Sanjay Goorachurn (2024)
  • Barb Murchie (2024)
  • Herman Van Ommen (2024)
  • Staff – Victoria Rees QC 

Discipline Committee

The Discipline Committee supports the College’s public protection mandate by hearing complaints (applications) of professional misconduct and/or incompetence referred to it by the Investigations Committee, in accordance with its authority under the Act, Regulations, By-laws and Policies, and with a view to the Regulatory Objectives, Standards and Principles.  The Committee may conduct its work through panels of 3 or 5, with a majority being non-licensees, or by the Chair alone in specified circumstances.

Hearings are conducted in public, and all policies and procedures will be published on the College’s website.  The work of the Discipline Committee will be transparent, fair, efficient, principled and proportionate, with written decisions and reasons supported by evidence that has been considered in a balanced and unbiased manner.  All decisions will be public.

Discipline Committee: Terms of Reference

Discipline Committee: Skills Matrix

Committee Members 
  • Marcel Mongeon – Chair/président (2024)
  • Raj Anand (2024)
  • Charles Boulakia (2024)
  • Kathleen Lickers (2024)
  • Jay Sengupta (2024) 
  • Benoit Yelle (2024)
  • Jean Whittow (2024)
  • Staff – Victoria Rees QC 

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee assists the Board in fulfilling its governance responsibilities. It will assist the Board to implement Board, committee and CEO evaluation systems that will enable enhance performance.

Governance Committee: Terms of Reference

Governance Committee: Skills Matrix

Committee Members 
  • Ruth McHugh FCPA – Chair/présidente (2023) 
  • Amber Bartool (2024) 
  • Karima Bawa (2024) 
  • Peter Cowan (2024) 

Nominations & Board Development Committee

The Nominations and Board Development Committee promotes an orderly and effective succession of Directors and committee members. The committee is responsible for developing plans for ongoing education for committees and the Board.

Nominations and Board Development Committee: Terms of Reference

Committee Members 
  • Charity Callahan – Chair/présidente (2024)
  • Jeff Astle (2024)
  • Evelyn Spence (2024)
  • Brent York (2024) 
  • Staff – Darrel Pink
  • Staff – Jen Slabodkin    

Audit and Risk Committee

The Risk & Audit Committee assists the Board in fulfilling in fulfilling its fiduciary obligations and oversight responsibilities relating to financial planning, the audit process, financial reporting, the system of corporate controls and risk management, and when required, to make recommendations to the Board for approval.

Audit and Risk Committee: Terms of Reference

Audit and Risk Committee: Skills Matrix

Committee Members 
  • Bob Plamondon FCPA Chair/président (2025) 
  • Jeff Astle (2024)
  • Iris Almeida-Côté (2024) 
  • Maureen Rogers (2024) 
  • Staff – Sean Walker CPA, CFO 

CEO & Registrar Search Committee

The purpose of the CEO & Registrar Search Committee is to undertake a search for a Chief Executive Officer & Registrar on behalf of the CPATA Board and identify a candidate for consideration by the Board. The Search Committee will engage the services of an Executive Search Firm to undertake the nation-wide search over the coming months. 

CEO Search Committee – Terms of Reference

Committee Members 
  • Tom Conway, Chair of the Board and Chair of the Search Committee 
  • Ruth McHugh, Vice-Chair of the Board 
  • Jeff Astle, Board Director 
  • Leonora Hoicka, Board Director 
  • Andrew Currier, Board Director