CPATA’s offices will be closed December 25 to January 1 inclusively for the holidays.

Please note that CPATA’s offices will be closed on Monday, July 1 for Canada Day


CPATA held elections for one patent agent director and one trademark agent director to serve on the Board of Directors. Elected Directors are licensees who are elected from the profession to contribute IP subject-matter expertise to the public interest mandate of CPATA’s Board of Directors.

Voting closed at 5:00 p.m. ET on April 25.

Steven Garland was elected as the patent agent director.

Scott Jolliffe was elected as the trademark agent director.

Congratulations to these Directors, whose terms will begin at CPATA’s Annual General Meeting on June 13, 2024. Thank you to all who ran in the election and who voted.

Detailed Results

Patent agent director results

1137 eligible voters

Percentage voted: 44.85% 

Rank Candidate Votes %
1 Steven Garland 325 63.73
2 Dennis Haszko 80 15.69
3 Leonora Hoicka 57 11.18
4 Jean-Christophe Paquette 48 9.41

Trademark agent director results 

1507 eligible voters

Percentage voted: 34.84% 

Rank Candidate Votes %
1 Scott Jolliffe 242 46.10
2 Joanne Nardi 227 43.24
3 Leonora Hoicka 56 10.67